Safe Room/Storm Shelter Program

The West Central Texas Regional Residential Safe Room/Storm Shelter Program is being funded from a grant provided by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) through the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM). This is a rebate program designed to help homeowners and developers offset the cost of installing above or below ground shelters, meeting the standards set by the National Storm Shelter Association (NSSA), in residences throughout the counties of Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, Fisher, Haskell, Jones, Kent, Knox, Mitchell, Nolan, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor and Throckmorton.

We are no longer accepting Storm Shelter applications.

Should you have any questions, please click for email information.

Frequently Asked Questions

Severe Weather Awareness

Floodplain Contacts

Programs Outside WCT